Paris, Je T’Aime

Quand j’ai vu la photo de mon amie à La Tour Eiffel (ou Paris, en générale), il y a un sentiment que je ne peux pas expliquer. Ça fait longtemps que je veux visiter ce pays, mais jusqu’à ce moment, je ne peux pas réaliser cette volonté. Pourtant, je ne vais pas arrêter de rêver. Maintenant, je suis en train d’essayer faire quelque chose qui vais aider ma volonté de venir en réalité.

Phew. It took a lot of effort to make a short paragraph above. I have stopped learning French for about two years. I almost forgot all grammars and vocabularies. Why did I try to revive my memory about French language? Well, first of all, it’s one of the languages I wish to speak fluently (hell yeah, you read it correctly). Though, it’s going to take blood and tears to master that language, somehow I feel like I want it to be a part of me. Secondly, I want to travel around Europe so bad and the country I want to visit the most is France. I certainly do not know whether the urge comes from my two-year French course at CCF or not, but I just feel like that country has a lot to offer to me. And last but not least, it’s (for me) the second most-used language in the world after English. So, those reasons above should back up my intention of reviving all the lessons I’ve taken before.

I mentioned about how France is able to offer me a lot of things before. Now, I am going to show you what it can offer:

  • Musée du Louvre

This is a museum where you can find a lot of wonders in the world because this is one of the biggest and most visited museum in the world (do I hear “Really?”) This was actually a fortress built under Phillip II and its function has changed for several times, and not until the French Revolution was this place established as a museum. And nowadays, you can find paintings, sculptures, and antiquities in this superb museum (and of course, the famous Monalisa). Moreover, Dan Brown has successfully brought this museum into the spotlight by involving this museum in one of the pieces of mystery in his novel, Da Vinci Code. But, with or without Da Vinci Code, this is one place I won’t miss (hopefully) when I have the chance to visit Paris. You can check the full descriptions of this amazing place here.

  • Arc de Triomphe

Also known as Arc de Triomphe de l’Étoile, this is a monument built to honor those who fought for France.  There are so many sculptures carved in the monument, each of which describes certain occasion happened within certain time too. This triumphal monument we see now is carved by more than one person in different time. We can also find names of people who fought with their brave souls in the Revolution age here. Despite the heroic fact behind this monument, I found one unique fact about Arc de Triomphe. This monument is bleached periodically. YES, BLEACHED! And it is planned to be bleached in 2011. Well, you can read the details here, for sure.

  • La Tour Eiffel

I can tell that this is the MOST FAMOUS tower in the world (even for people who do not have specific knowledge on this). Yes, France has been symbolized by the existence of one tower built in 1889 by Gustave Eiffel (you can see where it gets the name). For your information, this is the same man behind the great Statue of Liberty which happens to be the symbol of United States of America as well. This tower has three levels for visitors and you can get up there by stairs of lift (I wonder what is the percentage of people taking the stairs compared to the lift). More than two hundred thousand people have visited this tower since it has been erected in 1889 (no wonder it is called the most visited tower in the world). For more information about this très magnifique tour, you could click here.

Well, I guess that’s a little bit I could share about France and what it can give to its visitors. There are too many things which I cannot mention one by one about why I love Paris. Je tombes amoureux à ce pays et tous qu’elle a. And one day (soon), I am going to be there!

Au revoir!

Leave a Reply

