wat pho

Maiden Solo Journey to Thailand!

On July 26th 2011, my maiden solo adventure abroad was finally begun. The last time I was abroad was in August 2009 when I visited Singapore and Kuala Lumpur, but that trip was done with friends. While this time, I did it by myself. This is a brand new thing for a not-so-much-risk-taker like me to go to somewhere strange and unknown to me. So, I was kind of proud of myself.

I was there for 3D/2N in Bangkok and Ayutthaya. So this post will just cover the big picture of what I experienced within those days and I will post the detail story in separate posts.

*drumroll, please..*

Here we go..

July 26th 2011

LCC Terminal KLIA, Kuala Lumpur

The adventure started with flight from Jakarta to Kuala Lumpur where I had to stay overnight at LCC Terminal KLIA, Kuala Lumpur (I arrived around midnight) before taking the next flight to Bangkok in the morning. My God! It was the most horrendous sleeping experience I’ve ever had in my life. In the damn cold floor of that place, I laid myself without any mattress! The chilliness and hardness of the floor kept me awake for hours even though I tried to close my eyes. The result? I couldn’t sleep at all.

Lesson learned:

–          Sleeping in the cold floor never is a good thing if you have nothing to use as a mattress or blanket

–          Avoid such connecting flight if you are not comfortable with that unfortunate condition

But then, the dreadful sleeping experience didn’t subtract the fun I was going to have when I got to Bangkok.

July 27th 2011

Bangkok

Finally! I breathed the air of Bangkok *okay, it sounded too much, but more or less that was how I felt*.

On my first day, I decided to visit Wat Arun (Temple of the Dawn) and Wat Saket (Golden Mountain) instead of going to the Grand Palace and Wat Pho. Those two places are near my hostel (NapPark Hostel; quite recommended for you who want to stay at Khao San Road) but located afar from each other. That’s why I decided to get there on my first day to evade the hassle that might happen if I go there on the last day in Thailand. Here are some pictures of them:

The Massive Prang (Khmer Style Tower) in Wat Arun

July 28th 2011

Ayutthaya

On my second day, I intended to visit Bang Pa-In Summer Palace and Ayutthaya Historical Park. As I have planned before, I was going to take the train to get there. Well, fortunately, I arrived there without any difficulties *uhm, just a wee bit actually, since later that day I realized that I forgot to take the map of Ayutthaya with me. D’uh!*

But, the day I spent there was worth every sweat *I sweat a lot there!*

Bang Pa-In Summer Palace is palace with mixture of cultures and certainly worth visiting. I was glad I spared some time to go there because it was a different kind of atmosphere after all the temples we can find around Thailand.

One more destination that is worth visiting is Wat Niwet Thamaprawat. Even though it is located just behind the Bang Pa-In Summer Palace, it is a bit hard to find and not many people know the existence of this place. Wat Niwet Thamaprawat is, in my opinion, the most unique Buddhist temple I’ve ever seen! Everything about it resembles the form of Gothic Church. So, if you ever go to Bang Pa-In, do not miss to come and see this place. *I’ll share some information on how to get there later*

And from there, how to get to Ayutthaya was another challenge that day. I could barely find any transportation to get to Ayutthaya *well, that’s another story that I will tell in my other posts too*, but I finally made it there.

Since that day was so hot, I only visited two out of many “wat” over there; Wat Mahatmat and Wat Ratchaburana. In Wat Mahatmat, we can find the most photographed single object in Thailand (from what I heard, and I guess I have to agree with that) that is the head of the sandstone Buddha image. While in Wat Ratchaburana, I was amazed by the majestic feeling I got over the enormous ruins of that place.

From ancient ruins and palace, I went back to Bangkok to visit the most crowded shopping mall in town, Ma Boon Krong.

And that my friend, was the end of Day 2 journey.

July 29th 2011

Bangkok

The last day in Thailand! It is very true that when we are having fun, time goes twice as fast as its normal velocity. This was the day to visit the Grand Palace, Wat Phra Kaew and Wat Pho.

In my opinion, visiting Bangkok without visiting Grand Palace is such a waste because that place is indeed “grand”! And to visit Grand Palace means that you won’t miss the opportunity to stroll around the magnificent Wat Phra Kaew. That place was so “shiny” with exquisite choice of colors!

While Wat Pho, in my opinion, was not as interesting as other places I’ve visited. Yes, the reclining Buddha is enormous, but the pillars around the golden statue are blocking our full sight of the infamous reclining statue. So, that fact has brought me to less satisfaction of seeing the huge reclining Buddha statue.

I ended the journey in Thailand with a short stop to Abhisek Dusit Throne Hall. At first, I wanted to go to Vimanmek Mansion, but the free joint entrance ticket from Grand Palace could only be used at this art exhibition. But, the place was really nice. The arts displayed there are amazingly and beautifully made! The least duration to finish one art is one-year. However, I still got a little bit regret for not being able to visit Vimanmek Mansion.

Well, sadly said, that’s the end of the fun journey to Thailand! I might get back here one day, but I guess I will want some companies; the more, the merrier🙂

I will post a more detailed story in different posts later. Stay tuned🙂

Au revoir!

6 thoughts on “Maiden Solo Journey to Thailand!

    1. Yes, I had a really good time there!
      I tried several food. Pad thai, tom yum, kuetiaw nam (Idk what the guy said, but it sounded like that), and I ALMOST tried the infamous grilled insects, but I decided not to. I guess I didn’t too much various food there.
      But for food lover like you, I think Bangkok has so much food for you to try.

  1. Thailand looks beautiful! You took some great pictures. It seems like the culture is very diverse there…nice mix of peaceful locations such as the palaces but also all of the modern conveniences such as the crowded shopping mall.

    I’m a big fan of brightly colored architecture, so Wat Phra Kaew seems like my kind of place😀

    1. Well, you definitely should see Wat Phra Kaew. I am pretty sure you’ll be amazed by its shiny colorful walls and all. I’ll post about Wat Phra Kaew later with pictures that will show you how vivid the colors there..

Leave a Reply

