People passing by in the intersection bridge to BTS.

Busy Bangkok

Well, I’m a bit behind my own schedule of posting the story of my trip to Bangkok. The busyness keeps me away from typing and retracing the 3D/2N trip there. But, here I am again, to continue reminiscing the extraordinary places I’ve stepped on in Bangkok.

Thursday, July 28, 2011

Continuing from my last post in Ayutthaya, I was then ready to find my way back to city of Bangkok. I’ve read that to reach Bangkok, you can choose amidst taking the train, the bus or the minivan. To take the train, it means that you have to walk all the way back to the train station. Well, it’s certainly not an option I’d choose. It takes too much time. So, taking the bus or the minivan was the best option for me that day.

I was not planning to take the bus because the last stop of the bus is not within the range I could tolerate so I chose to get a ride on a minivan. From what I read, the minivan will stop at Victory Monument. And since my next destination was Ma Boon Krong, it was all perfect because right from Victory Monument, I can take BTS to Mah Boon Krong.

Now, the problem is I don’t know where exactly to find the minivan, not to mention I don’t even know what it looks like. But, at last, I found it.

The rest of the story, as usual, will be told through pictures because a picture says a thousand words, lol😀

Okay, the point of this picture is not the beautiful woman in the ads, but the almost-unnoticeable road sign that says "Khlong Makharm Riang Road". The road sign is around one of the intersections you can find there and it is the spot to take the minivan. I didn't get the chance to photograph the minivan because I was just too relieved to find it in the first place(well, actually, I forgot). But it's just some usual minivan with sliding door. It costs 60 Baht.
The picture above is the Victory Monument. I took the BTS from Victory Monument to National Stadium where you can directly enter the Mah Boon Krong. And during my minivan trip from Ayutthaya to Bangkok, I met this very kind Thai couple who showed me not only where the BTS is, but also how to get there with some shortcut to avoid the heat of Bangkok. They are really nice.
It costs 45 Baht from Victory Monument BTS to National Stadium. But it is fast and quite comfortable. At first, I thought of walking to MBK, but turned out my feet screamed the most vicious cry and I couldn't ignore it. NO MORE WALKING!
Wow! It was really an amazing view. They queue very neatly! I salute Thais for this!
Mah Boon Krong. It was really crowded that day (and I guess, everyday will be just as crowded). Just like other malls, it consists of different kind of shops with mall-standard-price. You can also try the food court to satisfy your hunger with not-so-pricey food. After visiting places which was built like hundred years ago, getting here gave me different kind of vibe and breeze that I'd very much appreciate at that time.
People passing by in the intersection bridge to BTS.
The sky was beautiful that day. While the neons have glimmered with their bright yellow, the afternoon sky completed the color with their soft magenta and blue colors.
After having dinner and buying some clothes for my nephews and nieces (with Thailand's signatures) in MBK, I returned to Khao San road with taxi (75 Baht). All along Khao San road, you can find various souvenirs and food with affordable price (well, for some goodies, don't forget to bargain the price).
I never like bugs! But in Khao San road, you can find vendors selling different kind snacks made of bugs. Too bad, I didn't try them out. Not because I didn't have the chance, but I didn't want to. Bugs? Eww.. From my observation, grasshoppers are the most favorite choice (still, eww.. )

Well, from my night walk in Khao San road, I got a fedora for 150 Baht. Not bad.

Sadly, the next day was going to be my last day in Bangkok. But, the exciting thing is I’d go to the most-visited tourist object in Bangkok; Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew.

I hope that I’ll be able to finish the post about it soon🙂

Au revoir!

6 thoughts on “Busy Bangkok

    1. I sense a bit of mocking here, am I right? Lol.
      And tasty, you said? Well, it doesn’t change the fact that I hate bugs. Or maybe I should eat them to show how I hate them, HAHAHA.
      Thanks, but no thanks😀

  1. okay this my fav out of all your thailand posts!!
    i’m dying to step in MBK and shop like a crazy person😀
    and hey, you should have totally tried some bugs! be adventurous😉
    awesome post!

    1. Well, I guess if you like MBK just from my brief description and its picture for the outside, you’ll like it more once you’re inside😀
      You’re like the tenth person to tell me that I should’ve tried the bugs. Now, I know the negative side of traveling solo i.e if you’re in doubt, you’ll have no one to convince you, esp. if you’re dealing with things like eating bugs😀

    1. Thanks🙂 I was worried about Bangkok. Last July, it was sunny and hot, but now the flood has changed everything. I hope Bangkok will be normal soon so you all can go there..

Leave a Reply

