The cliff where Hindus have their worshipping altar and such, and you can see the hole of Batu Bolong

Batu Bolong Temple

This is actually my unfinished post about Lombok … 

The day before, Lombok was showered with on-and-off rain, which meant nothing but the failure to enjoy the beach and sunset. But luckily, my last day in Lombok, I was welcomed by a bright sunshine.

Our bus was already heading to our next destination before we went to the airport in the afternoon. The next destination was once again a shop-till-drop scene. I really hate it! Most Indonesian tourists are shopping freaks. They choose to go shopping rather than visiting interesting places around the city. I am thankful that I am not one of the most-Indonesian-tourists. Luckily, there is this manager in my bus who likes photography and sightseeing and he made a special request to stop by at Batu Bolong temple. (Though it was nothing like watching sunset in Senggigi beach with the backdrop of Mount Agung, but my disappointment was cured a tiny little bit)

Batu Bolong Temple is located in one corner of downhill road to Senggigi, Lombok. Contrary to Bali, Hindus aren’t the majority in Lombok so there is not many Hindu temples around. Batu Bolong Temple is one of the rare temples in Lombok for Hindus. This temple faces Mount Agung across the sea.

And as usual, I won’t write too many words and sentences, but to let the pictures describe Pura Batu Bolong in its own way. Here we go:

Pura Batu Bolong
The cliff where Hindus have their worshipping altar and such, and you can see the hole of Batu Bolong
The top of one of the Palinggihs before we take the stairs (palinggih is like a carved pillar which can be found around Pura - that's what I thought, don't know if it's correct or not)
The Palinggih that hanging by the end of the cliff, right above the sea
The wisdom spreading from his face. And yes, he is a really nice. He told me the story behind the existence of Pura Batu Bolong
The woman preparing the offerings. She was with her kid and husband that day. I guess her family was the first to arrive because when we were about to leave a pack of people with white shirts came (I heard they are from Bali)
The origin of the name "Batu Bolong" which means stone with a hole (more accurate to be translated as a hole in a cliff)
From Pura Batu Bolong, I saw the life of locals where they worked together to catch some fish. It was an interesting scene to be seen
The single fighter fisherman

I guess that’s all for now. Au revoir!

10 thoughts on “Batu Bolong Temple

  1. Beautiful pictures, thanks for sharing🙂 the part about the shopping freaks is true, I`ve seen and known many of them. Luckily I`d rather enjoy the scenery than going shopping.

  2. It is such a nice place. I like it, the elegant combination between the beauty of nature and the great culture of human.

    Talking about shopping freak as you wrote here, haha I had similar feeling like yours. When I had field trip in Bangkok, the next destination was Wat Arun, but the people on trip group prefer shopping to visiting cultural site. Well, since more voices to vote shopping, bus went to the mall. Yups, bit disappointing😦 Thus, I like to travel by myself and with some people who mostly have the same interest.

    Looking forward to read your following articles about your journey.
    Thanks🙂

Leave a Reply

