The silhouette of top dome of Jama Masjid with pigeons dispersing

Old Delhi: Another Depiction of Delhi

I would rate my search of Old Delhi to be the most challenging one. Red Fort, or Lal Qila, can be reached by taking Metro to Chandni Chowk Metro Station. It is still within the walking distance from the metro station. However, in my opinion, the outside of Chandni Chowk Metro Station looks like labyrinth. I was lost there! That was also the reason why I took cycled rickshaw to get to Red Fort. Unfortunately, the driver of rickshaw had veiled intention of taking me “shopping” first.

Bear in mind, this is one of several scams that you will find in India. Drivers of rickshaw (auto or cycled) might want to take you shopping first before dropping you off to your original destination. Of course, I was upset at that time. I tried to politely explain in very simple English that I don’t want to shop, at all, until I lost my temper and asked him to stop. At first, I didn’t want to pay at all because he tricked me. But he made a scene and I was a bit worried at that time, so I paid him after all.

At least I was halfway to my destination.

Lahore Gate from afar. On Independence day, there will be crowds here. Cannot imagine why not considering how vast this place is
Lahore Gate from afar. On Independence day, there will be crowds here. Cannot imagine why not considering how vast this place is
Up close of Lahore Gate
Up close of Lahore Gate
Vertical perspective of Lahore Gate
Vertical perspective of Lahore Gate
You will find a lot of arches for entrance. The intricate carvings are amazing. Unfortunately, they are not that well-preserved
You will find a lot of arches for entrance. The intricate carvings are amazing. Unfortunately, they are not that well-preserved
The security looks quite intimidating even with small posture. This place is Diwan-i-Aam - Public Audience Hall. The columns are engraved beautifully
The security looks quite intimidating even with small posture. This place is Diwan-i-Aam – Public Audience Hall. The columns are engraved beautifully
_MG_9880
The Shahi Burj – Emperor’s Tower – was the emperor’s main study
The white marble balcony in public audience hall
The white marble balcony in public audience hall
White pavilion in the quarter of imperial princes
White pavilion in the quarter of imperial princes

From this wonderful Red Fort, I continued my journey by foot to Jama Masjid. This was a really interesting (both in positive and negative ways) experience because I got lost, again. I am not the most terrific map reader, that is obvious. Although Jama Masjid seems really close to Red Fort, but it took me around 30 minutes to find it – and I almost gave up.

Jama Masjid is located amidst busy Old Delhi. I was actually walking towards the right direction, however the scenes I encountered along the way are too “local” for me. Local stores, vendor carts, beggars, size of the road and everything else make me question myself about the direction I was heading to. But then, there it is – Jama Masjid! And because of my relieve to find it, I forgot to take picture of Jama Masjid from up front.

One thing to pay attention to while visiting Jama Masjid is the entrance fee that you need to pay. There are two types of entrance fee for Jama Masjid; one is only for general entrance and the other one is with additional tower visit. However, I stumbled upon what I thought as a scam. There was this guy asking me to pay for extra money because I am carrying a camera with me (DSLR camera). Of course, I didn’t give him the money straight away. I asked him to come with me to the place where I paid my entrance fee to prove if I do need to pay for extra fee for camera. He went missing at once. So, I concluded that it was indeed a scam.

Back side of Jama Masjid entrance
Back side of Jama Masjid entrance
The front stairs to Jama Masjid entrance
The front stairs to Jama Masjid entrance
Feeding the pigeons. It seems like pigeons are not considered to be pests in India, unlike in the UK where it is unrecommended to feed pigeons in certain areas (correct me if I'm wrong)
Feeding the pigeons. It seems like pigeons are not considered to be pests in India, unlike in the UK where it is unrecommended to feed pigeons in certain areas (correct me if I’m wrong)
Just some local hanging around in front of masjid. Not all though are locals though.
Just some local hanging around in front of masjid. Not all though are locals though.
The silhouette of top dome of Jama Masjid with pigeons dispersing
The silhouette of top dome of Jama Masjid with pigeons dispersing
Say hello to the camera little boy
Say hello to the camera little boy
Busy street of Chandni Chowk area, perfect depiction of Old Delhi for me
Busy street of Chandni Chowk area, perfect depiction of Old Delhi for me

Taking the cycled rickshaw to the metro station marked the end of my first day exploring Delhi.

Au revoir!

2 thoughts on “Old Delhi: Another Depiction of Delhi

  1. Getting lost in not a new thing for me either. I got lost in Bangkok, Manila and Kandy in Sri Lanka.🙂 Red Fort and Jama Masjid look beautiful; I love the intricate archways and the striking color itself, sans the scam they would have been wonderful places, I believe.

    1. So, traveling is indeed the art of getting lost then🙂 Scam is one of few things that might ruin the trip. Good research on scams helped me a lot though. At least I know what to expect.

Leave a Reply

