The perfect depiction of a fortress. Look how small these people are.

Agra Fort: The Walled City

I have a hard time finding auto from Baby Taj to my next destination – Agra Fort. From what I extracted from what I saw and what people told me, that day is Ganesh Day. Furthermore, especially because Baby Taj is located across the busy tourist destinations like Taj Mahal and Agra Fort, it was more difficult to find any available auto.

And finally, Agra Fort.

Agra Fort is also one of UNESCO World Heritage sites. It is situated in the right bank of Yamuna river and founded in 16th century by Emperor Akbar. This fortress is surrounded with red sandstone walls with number of palaces inside, with some of them are made from intrinsically carved marbles.

The perfect depiction of a fortress. Look how small these people are.
The perfect depiction of a fortress. Look how small these people are.
The Jahangir Palace
The Jahangir Palace
_MG_0017
Closer look to carvings in the Jahangir Palace
_MG_0025
Entering the Jahangir Palace
_MG_0034
It is a good thing that renovation is on progress here and there
_MG_0039
Beautifully carved
_MG_0044
Door. I am so deep!
_MG_0053
You can actually see the Taj Mahal from afar
_MG_0069
Balance. Almost every architectures are built symmetrically
_MG_0075
Can you imagine the busy life that was once occupied this place?
_MG_0084
Diwan-e-Khas. I am speechless on how symmetric everything is, even with such decorated patterns
_MG_0117
Little Parakeet in a hole. Looks peculiar to my eyes.
_MG_0071 copy
Anguri Bagh – rectangular court with garden which is believed to have sweet fragrance and grapes (angur) was grown here in the garden – hence the name. In Indonesian, grapes is translated as anggur and it is almost similar to Hindi, to my surprise. A large rectangular court measuring 67.6m by 52m in front of the Khas Mahal is the garden laid out in the Char Bagh pattern with small hexagonal grids of red sandstone. This garden had dwarf plants of sweet fragrance and is widely assumed and accepted that grapes (angur) were also grown in this garden giving it the present name. Below the marble terrace is a small tank in the centre of the quadrangle,on a platform measuring 14.7m square from which four marble paved paths radiate outwards.

_MG_0060 _MG_0087 _MG_0088 _MG_0091 _MG_0100

From Agra Fort, my next stop will be one of the most famous tombs in the world –  Taj Mahal.

I took auto-rickshaw to get there and it costs me around Rs. 40, of course after haggling with the driver.

Au revoir!

7 thoughts on “Agra Fort: The Walled City

    1. I think it happens a lot to people. I have to admit, as Indonesian, I might know less about several places in my country compared to foreign visitors.

      Thanks for the compliment, I’m glad my post makes you want to re-visit Agra🙂

Leave a Reply

