Beautifully reflected in the pond

Taj Mahal – The Jewel of the Mausoleum

As I have planned the other night, after my visit to Agra Fort, I would finally feast my eyes upon the greatness of one of the most beautiful mausoleums in the world – Taj Mahal.

But as usual, haggling with auto-rickshaw driver to get proper price is undeniably necessary, if not obligatory.

It was mid day, and I was about to have lunch first before proceeding to visit Taj Mahal. As I walked to look for a place to eat, I encountered loud festive music coming from the other way. If you read my previous post, I mentioned about what I thought to be Ganesh Day was being celebrated. I was almost sure that that day is indeed Ganesh Day as I saw parade full of people dancing and singing in the street.

Celebrating Ganesh Day
Celebrating Ganesh Day

That day, Agra was as hot as I imagined it to be, and I thought of having lunch in an air-conditioned place would be such a pleasure. The old guy attending me is a friendly guy with strong opinion about life. He told me about how people nowadays have ridiculous admiration towards public figures and he told me about how the surrounding of Taj Mahal has changed over time with its known popularity. He was a great companion during my lunch.

After I thanked him for the lunch and lovely conversation, I walked my way to the Southern gate of Taj Mahal (note that there are several entrances to Taj Mahal, with each entrance has its own features). The Southern Gate has an uncanny similarity to the one that I saw in Baby Taj earlier that day.

The Southern Gate
The Southern Gate

And then, there it is, standing majestically in front me, leaving me in awe and admiration, the Taj Mahal – one of the magical wonders in the world.

As expected, when my eyes laid upon Taj Mahal, I had goosebumps.
As expected, when my eyes laid upon Taj Mahal, I had goosebumps.
Beautifully reflected in the pond
Dawn was upon us and Taj Mahal is beautifully reflected in the pond. And this is the typical postcard image.

You don’t go to such amazing place and expect the crowd will be manageable. It was quite a struggle to find a spot to capture Taj Mahal symmetrically, however it is not impossible. I waited to get a great view of Taj Mahal basks in sunset, but I think it should be sunrise because I could barely see significant difference when the sunset arrived. Nonetheless, it is still a beautiful symbol of love devotion.

As often referred as one of the seven wonders, Taj Mahal is a mausoleum built by Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan for his third wife, Mumtaz Mahal. Taj Mahal or Jewel of Palaces, which is located in Agra – Uttar Pradesh, is made from white marbles. Mumtaz Mahal herself passed away after giving birth to her 14th child. (I wrote 13th earlier, it is supposed to be 14th. My bad!)

Standing as tall as 171-metre, this mausoleum has four sides which are perfectly identical, creating an astonishingly mirrored image on each side. There is one minaret for each of the four corners. The main chamber itself houses the false sarcophagi of Mumtaz Mahal, with the real one is located in the lower level. Passages from Al-Quran have also been used as decorative elements throughout the complex.

The Onion Dome with the finial is topped by a typical Islamic motif whose horns point heavenward. It also resembles a trident shape, reminiscent of traditional Hindu symbols of Shiva
The Onion Dome with the finial is topped by a typical Islamic motif whose horns point heavenward. It also resembles a trident shape, reminiscent of traditional Hindu symbols of Shiva
The archway spandrel is also decorated with Pietra Dura
The archway spandrel is also decorated with Pietra Dura. The wall is also decorated with calligraphy.
Pietra Dura
Pietra Dura
White marble dados, carved with flowers and vines
White marble dados, carved with flowers and vines
The Minaret is comprised in three parts and is built slightly outside the plinth so in the even of collapsing, the tower will crumble in the opposite direction of the tomb
The Minaret is comprised in three parts and is built slightly outside the plinth so in the even of collapsing, the tower will crumble in the opposite direction of the tomb
The Mosque
The Mosque
Taj Mahal seen from the garden
Taj Mahal seen from the garden

Even though I haven’t travelled that much, I can confidently say that Taj Mahal will be one of the most amazing architectures I have witnessed with my own eyes. Not only its majestic features, but also the history it holds unspeakably – the devotion of love.

Au revoir!

 

8 thoughts on “Taj Mahal – The Jewel of the Mausoleum

  1. Beautiful captures of one of the world’s most elegant buildings, Robin! It seems that the weather was perfect when you went, with those blue skies enabling the white marble mausoleum to gleam in full glory.

      1. Lucky you! I’ve been reading news about how bad the air quality is in New Delhi and other Indian big cities. At some point they’re even worse than China’s.

  2. Well, I didn’t notice anything significantly different from the air of Jakarta. Although it doesn’t make any fair judgment but I don’t think Delhi’s air quality is worse (that doesn’t mean it is not bad either). But I do wonder the air quality in Beijing though.

Leave a Reply

