_MG_0448

Qutab Minar: The Tall, Red, Lean, and Gorgeous Minar from India

As I am sitting here in my living room, I could almost recall the similar heat and humidity that crawled into my skin when I was traveling in India. But on the second thought, maybe my memory and senses do not serve a correct measurement to what I felt. Although I am certain that it was nothing in comparison with recent heat wave that kills thousands of Indians, the heat was still measurably significant during my travel. I remember on that particular day, even though my calves’ muscles created such an intricate painful knot, I still followed my unwavering decision to visit Qutab Minar by taking the Metro combined with Auto to get there.

The incomplete version of Qutab Minar
The incomplete version of Qutab Minar
The green parakeets set themselves apart from the redness surrounding them
The green parakeets set themselves apart from the redness surrounding them
Intricate design of each nook, wall, and curve
Intricate design of each alcove, wall, and curve of the Tomb of Iltutmish

The sun was quite high when I got to Qutab Minar that day. I instantly changed my glasses to my shades to aid my vision so that I could enjoy the sights better, without having to squint my eyes all the time. I could barely feel any wind blowing although the sky was quite clear. The place was already packed with both local and foreign tourists and it wasn’t easy to manoeuvre and take pictures in some places. I have to say that Qutab Minar is located in considerably spacious compound for one tower (minar). Qutab Minar is 73 metre high and made from three different material. The first three storeys are made from red sandstone, while the fourth and the fifth are made from marble and sandstone. Built in 1192, the wall of the Minar is inscribed with verses from Koran.

Qutab Minar from afar
Qutab Minar from afar
Qutab Minar standing tall amidst its surrounding
Qutab Minar standing tall amidst its surrounding
Closer look of Qutab Minar
Closer look of Qutab Minar

Tall and tan and young and lovely, the girl from Ipanema …

As I was writing and thinking about the proper title for it, the popular song of Frank Sinatra came rushing through my mind. The fact that this Minar is one of the most popular towers in India can be perfectly and metaphorically compared with the girl from Ipanema whom Frank Sinatra serenaded in his song.

Locals and foreigners alike come and enjoy the remains of the past
Locals and foreigners alike come and enjoy the remains of the past
Pillars that are carefully carved to create such beautiful symmetrical view
Pillars that are carefully carved to create such beautiful symmetrical view
The details of one of the pillars
The details of one of the pillars
The Quwwat-ul-Islam Mosque
The Quwwat-ul-Islam Mosque
Common carvings to be found in the past remains of Islamic influenced architectures
Common carvings to be found in the past remains of Islamic influenced architectures

5 thoughts on “Qutab Minar: The Tall, Red, Lean, and Gorgeous Minar from India

  1. I can imagine myself taking lots of photos of the intricate carvings on the tower. Did you go in summer? Anyway, manoeuvre instead of maneuver huh?😀

  2. I believe you will have to bring more than 50 gbs of memory cards if you travel more than 6 months. India has so many interesting objects to be captured.
    Well, for that particular word, pardon my French. Literally :p

Leave a Reply

