Dream Being Inked – Literally

I had the talk with my friend, L, years ago about getting tattoo. Years passed and none of us has actually have any tattoo. But then this year, we challenged ourselves more seriously, especially with L having her 30B30 resolutions, this tattoo thing has been taken to different level of seriousness. Honestly, I don’t really know what got into me, but this year seems to be my “challenge-yourself” year where I do things that I don’t usually do. I did several things that I don’t think the 2011-me would dare doing, and one of them is getting a tattoo.

Many people still perceive tattooed people as rebellious ones. For me tattoo is art. How the tattoo artists can ink the drawing into the skin is certainly not the easiest job that you can find. They have to have the sense of arts flowing through their blood, or else the tattoo would be horrendous.

Moreover, tattoo is 100% a self-expression and more extremely (for those who don’t know and sometimes judgmental)  it is part of culture for certain countries. Previously, society only (and/or often) associate people who have tattoo with crimes, for example, yakuza – the infamous crime syndicates in Japan or gangs in Latin America. The television also helps the image of tattooed people as bad-ass people – in negative sense – as they’re usually pictured as troubled and dangerous people (and are often in jail). However, it is also the television which helps to turn the image of inked people into people who know how to express themselves (and yeah, cool people as well). I guess that is the moment when the negative image of having tattoos starting to fade away, or at least change into a way better sense.

And then, after I finalized the design for my tattoo and found the tattoo artist, I went to get my first tattoo in February 23, 2013. The name of the tattoo parlor is Gusti’s Body Art. The place he has is small but cozy enough to calm first-timer like I was. I did eat my lunch first before getting here – as being suggested – to avoid any possibility of shameful faint during the process. And then, the experience began.

This is the design of my tattoo. It took pretty long time for me to finally come up with this. It is an ambigram of
This is the design of my tattoo. It took pretty long time for me to finally come up with this. It is an ambigram of ” rêve “, French word from dream.
The outlines are being drawn to make sure that it will be symmetrical to my body.
The outlines are being drawn to make sure that it will be symmetrical to my body.
And the experience began! Many of friends asked,
And the experience began! Many of friends asked, “Was it hurt?” All I can say is “Meh”. But honestly, I don’t know how to describe it. Sometimes I feel numb, sometimes it hurts, and sometimes it horribly painful.
See my face? I didn't know that I'm good at acting - if you know what I mean.
See my face? I didn’t know that I’m good at acting – if you know what I mean.
The
The “meh” moment. When the outlines are being drawn, it doesn’t really hurt – or it is still acceptable pain.
I'm halfway there buddy. Phew.
I’m halfway there buddy. Phew.
I recall this phase as the hurtful moment. It is when Gusti filled the outlines with solid black ink.
I recall this phase as the hurtful moment. It is when Gusti filled the outlines with solid black ink.
Just a little bit more. And this is the horribly painful moment - but still manageable.
Just a little bit more. And this is the horribly painful moment – but still manageable.
Aaand finally it is done. Dream inked to my skin! Literally. I am satisfied with the result.
Aaand finally it is done. Dream inked to my skin! Literally. I am satisfied with the result.

So, there it is, my first tattoo. Shortly after I got mine, L also got hers. I can proudly say that I beat her on this, MWUAHAHA (evil laugh).

Lastly, I don’t believe that tattoo is addictive. Tattoo is art and expression; art and expression are humane needs. So, all I can fairly say is I like tattoo because of those two reasons, and yes, I’m thinking about getting the second one. The design is still in progress but roughly I have the concept of my second tattoo. I hope it will turn out good.

Au revoir!

6 thoughts on “Dream Being Inked – Literally

  1. I can’t help not to think of the Burmese version of Jordin Sparks’ “Tattoo”. Instead of “You’re in my heart just like a tattoo”, it says “I love your tattoo” with the scene of a girl admiring her boyfriend’s tattoo. Cheesy I know. 🙂 But congrats on your inked dream!

  2. Hmmm…. you surely beat mine =,=a But really? that evil laugh??? 😐
    Hahahaha…. You really did a great job by creating your own design (and well, yes, also because yours is more painful).
    I think that tattoo is not a rebellious act, because when you see those tribal, they already made tattoos since hundreds of years ago, and it’s more of a sign of adulthood. But I think that today’s tattoos are purely art. I always love art and I like to have them inked on my body with no meaning at all, just because I liked it. About the addictive that people said about tattoo, I don’t think I will be addictive to the pain… Actually, I hate the pain and the two weeks of recovery, I just love the result hahaha… What’s your next?

    1. That evil laugh is important in the situation of winning, lol.
      Yes, tattoos can have certain meaning to someone, or not at all. But, I am just relieved that it is not (that heavily) judged in negative way any longer. I have no problem with the pain, but I hate the itch! It is so bothering.
      My next one? I’m thinking about another ambigram to be put in my upper right arm 😀 Got the rough design already, but still much consideration to go. What about you? L surely is not enough, right 😉

  3. Nice tatto! I’ve been wanting to have one since long time ago but I haven’t decided the design. Anyway, I enjoy reading your posts. Glad I found your blog. Salam kenal 🙂

Leave a comment