Distinctive Taste of Old Town

Penang – coastal state of Malaysia – is nowadays popular for Indonesians for its health tourism. Yes, you heard it right; health tourism.  In this case, mouth-to-mouth advertisement has got people come and line up to get a decent and affordable medication in Penang. Of course, in Indonesia, you can also find the same quality of treatment, but then the level of trust is totally different. The foreign atmosphere brings a totally different vibe to most Indonesians. But then, with the same kind of quality, the bill can be cheaper in Penang compared to in Indonesia (based on what I heard from the patients when I was there).  Furthermore, you got to travel and do a little sightseeing, right?

I was in Penang months ago for the same reason that I stated above. And of course, I took a little tour to Penang old town.  Actually, there is more to see here in Penang, but since my time was quite limited, I chose to explore only its old town. Malaysia, as you know it, is famous for its heterogenous culture and it’s no different for its northwest island. You can feel Melayu, Chinese, Western and Indian cultures mixed together soothingly. In my opinion, Penang is a quite slow paced place to live even with its several famous industrial compounds settled in that island.

Well for now, let me give you a little taste of Penang – a distinctive taste of its old town.

Wooden window, remnant of the past
Wooden window, remnant of the past
Crows in the sky, flying low and high
Crows in the sky, flying low and high
Homey church, with its modest colonial style
Homey church, with its modest colonial style
Stay strong, like these pillars that struggle to fight unavoidable fragility
Stay strong, like these pillars that struggle to fight unavoidable fragility
Welcome to the past.
Welcome to the past.
Quite an entrance, in the lane of love
Quite an entrance, in the lane of love
No, we won't give up -  homes from the good old days standing there, waiting for another future to come
No, we won’t give up – homes from the good old days standing there, waiting for another future to come
Store the past, in the store resembles the past
Store the past, in the store resembles the past
Flock of crows, resting in the top of the roof
Flock of crows, resting in the top of the roof

Well, that’s it for now – for my dusty blog.  Until next post!

Au revoir!

2 thoughts on “Distinctive Taste of Old Town

  1. Did you feel the Chinese ambiance much more than Malay in Penang? I’ve been wondering because what I heard is that despite being in a Malay-majority country, Penang feels rather oriental. By the way I love how that lane is called lovelane. Such an eye-catchy name!

    1. Well, I did notice that I encountered many Chinese along the way and come to think about it, it’s probably true that Penang has more oriental ambience. But I cannot entirely be sure since I did not cover the majority of the city. And yeah, lovelane is pretty eye-catching. Around Lovelane road, there are some vintage decorated hostels (from the glimpse that I caught when I passed that road)

Leave a comment